Which way shall we go?

Today I took Oliver out by myself whilst Louise took George out to a local fun day. We decided against taking Oliver to this as we knew it would not be something he would react well to.

So I took Oliver to a local park that I know he likes. I thought what could possibly go wrong? Well, the first problem was getting parked. Usually it’s pretty easy to get parked at this park, but the weather was half decent and it was a Bank Holiday. So parking spaces were pretty non existent.

Now, I’m normally not the sort to persist at trying to park when it seems like a lost cause. I don’t have the patience. I usually give up and go somewhere else. However, Oliver had recognised where we were and when I started to leave he began to throw a tantrum that felt like it could shake the car off the road. So I had to circle until I found a space and finally I did. I was even lucky enough that a departing motorist with a valid parking ticket kindly passed it on to me, so I also avoided having to take Oliver all the way to the ticket machine and then drag him back to the car thus enraging him further. Phew!!

So into the park we went and Oliver followed his usual path. We went first to the play park and then for a walk. Normally we have a specific route in this park, but today Oliver chose to veer off course. He lead me through the woods and out the other side to what was the old entrance road to the park a few years ago. This was all well and good until I tried to encourage Oliver that it was then time to turn back. Normally I can coax him back with the promise of juice and a snack. What transpired next is best presented in the following videos for your enjoyment!!

Eventually, Oliver won and I lost. He wouldn’t stand up until I agreed to go his way, so I did. Thankfully this eventually lead us back to the play park area which was close to the cafe and Oliver immediately dragged me inside. I was certainly ready for a sit down and a coffee and a slice of cake, but oh damn there was a really big queue.

Now on previous visits to this cafe, there had been at least two adults with Oliver so one of us would take him to sit straight down at a table while the other went for the food. Today I would have to wait in the queue with Oliver.

I considered leaving, but knew that this would be inadvisable and result in a monumental meltdown so I felt I had no choice but to wait it out. The two cashiers looked particularly bored and deliberately slow, and the customers in front of me looked indecisive and dithery. Not a combination I relished but is had no other choice.

Oliver lay down on the floor, and gradually started to get impatient, but overall he did well and eventually we got served and we made it to a table. We had a nice ten minute sit down and enjoyed our snacks.

Then it was time to go home. The walk back to the car was uneventful, even if the overflow car park did seem further away on the way out than the way in. But out we got and home we went, and as ever I had survived another unpredictable outing with Oliver. He’s very easily distressed at the moment. More so than usual. I don’t know what is troubling him, but hopefully it will pass quickly, and it will be some time before I am lost in the woods with him again.

Take care
Peter

Leave a comment